Push! (2006)


Take a deep breath, grab the gas and air and join us on a roller coaster journey through one of the most extreme, yet most commonplace dramas that a human being can go through.


With breathtaking music from the 13 strong orchestra, ingenious words, scintillating performances and Tête à Tête’s hallmark theatricality, you will enter the minds of six very different women at the very moment they give birth.


You will smile, laugh, cry, bill and coo, gurgle with pleasure and choke with emotion until the series of episodes climaxes with a celebration of the pure power and life force bound up in every labouring mother.



“Cara” from Push!




Developed by Aldeburgh Productions through the second Genesis Opera Project and presented in association with the Genesis Foundation


Push! is a wonderfully entertaining small-scale piece of music theatre with a score by David Bruce and a libretto by Anna Reynolds…Bruce’s score, conducted by Tim Murray, is buoyantly inventive…the versatile cast of eight performs with irresistible panache…Push! certainly delivers.”


Rupert Chistiansen, Daily Telegraph, 23 June 06 (Tête à Tête also received the ‘Best of 2006’ award from Rupert Chistiansen for Push! and Odysseus Unwound)


“This was a dazzling show by any standards…Push! is simply brilliant from start to finish. But above all it’s humane. Sensitive ideas cascade and catapult forth, but the most gleaming item of all is Bruce’s fresh and original music, which from a small ensemble produces a wonderfully bizarre mix of the coherent and the unpredictable.”

Roderic Dunnett, Opera Now, Nov/Dec 06


“Sometimes Bruce’s writing comes close to operatic genius (a bittersweet love scene without words is very affecting) …With a clutch of uniformly excellent performances, it makes for a consistently surprising, brilliantly inventive and fast-paced show.”

Warwick Thompson, Metro, 21 June 06


Read the independent evaluation of PUSH!


Download the PUSH! Programme



Composer: David Bruce

Librettist: Anna Reynolds

Director: Bill Bankes-Jones

Designer: Tim Meacock

Conductor: Tim Murray

Lighting: Ian Scott





Tara Harrison

Rachel Hynes

Jacqueline Miura

Helen Wither

Louise Mott

Richard Coxon

James Edwards

Mark Richardson




Violin 1 Helena Wood

Cello: Miriam Lowbury

Double Bass: Elena Hull

Flute: Katie Bicknell

Clarinet: Stuart King

Bassoon: Matthew Dodd

Trumpet: Joe Sharp

Horn: Evgeny Chebykin

Trombone: Roger Williams

Piano: Daniel Becker

Accordion: Ian Watson

Percussion: Stephen Gibson