19:00-19:40, Saturday 3rd September 2022

The Cockpit

 

Music: Luciana Perc

 

Film performance is a brand new opera exploring the intrinsic physicality of musical performance and the odd comical ways in which we interacted with cameras over the pandemic.

 

A musical response to the short film Film (a 1965 collaboration between Samuel Beckett and Buster Keaton), this work uses microphones and cameras on stage to create electroacoustic sounds and a film projection in real time. Everyday objects featured in Film are brought to the stage and turned into sound-making devices. The show is composed of a series of solos. Each solo focuses on a specific combination of objects featured in the short-film, from a newspaper and a hat to a fish tank and a bird cage, combining the sounds produced with these objects with vocal, instrumental and electroacoustic sounds. 

We embrace Keaton’s breathtaking physicality when examining sound-making physical actions in the aim of challenging stereotyped conceptions of voice types and gender in opera. Film performance addresses the phenomenological enquiry around perception and self-awareness explored through the figure of the doppelgänger in Film, transposed to daily interactions with webcams over the pandemic.

 

Age Rating: All ages, but mostly adults

Content Advisory: None. To see content advisories for Tête à Tête: The Opera Festival 2022 shows, click here.

 

In a festival of new work, please note that shows can often overrun.

 

Produced by Luciana Perc

 

Venue: The Cockpit, Gateforth Street, London NW8 8EH.

 

 

www.instagram.com/lucianaperc.music 

www.lucianaperc.com

 

On the same day:

 

Composer/Director: Luciana Perc

Costume Designer: Eugenia Fiusco

Set Designer: Amara Cooke

Real-time video Designer: Enrico Dorigatti

 

Performers: 

Soprano: Anna Pych

Soprano: Anna Marmion

Countertenor: Garreth Romain

Mezzo-soprano: Miranda Ostler

Percussion: Lindsey Eastham

Baritone: Thomas Niesser

Mezzo-soprano: Camille Maalawy 

Composer/Director: Luciana Perc (https://lucianaperc.com)

Costume Designer: Eugenia Fiusco (https://uk.linkedin.com/in/eugenia-fiusco)

Set Designer: Amara Cooke (https://amaracooke.wixsite.com/website)

Real-time video Designer: Enrico Dorigatti (https://www.enricodorigatti.com)
Performers: 

Soprano: Anna Pych (https://annapych.com)

Soprano: Anna Marmion (https://www.instagram.com/marmion_soprano/)

Countertenor: Garreth Romain (https://garrethromain-countertenor.com)

Mezzo-soprano: Miranda Ostler (https://www.mirandaostler.com)

Percussion: Lindsey Eastham (https://www.marimbaone.com/community/marimbaoneartists/lindsey-eastham)

Baritone: Thomas Niesser (https://auditionoracle.com/singer/thomas_niesser/)

Mezzo-soprano: Camille Maalawy (https://camillemaalawy.com)